The College is an independent Further Education (FE) Corporation, established by the Further and Higher Education Act 1992. This Act removed all further education colleges from local authority control on 1 April 1993. Such colleges are also established as charities but are exempt from the requirements of the Charities Act.

The powers of the Corporation may be summarised as:

  • provide further and higher education
  • supply goods or services in support of the provision of education
  • provide secondary education to 14–16 year olds in schools/academies
  • conduct an educational institution
  • subscribe for or acquire shares in or securities of a company
  • acquire and dispose of assets
  • borrow & invest money

The Corporation also has powers to enter into contracts and make other arrangements in support of its main powers.

The College is administered under the Instrument & Articles of Government which set out the rules for the constitution and operation of the Corporation. The Board has also approved Standing Orders which include the Policy on the Selection of Governors. 

Governance documents

Funding for the College is provided by the Education & Skills Funding Agency whose function is to ensure that government funding is distributed to the organisations who provide further education and skills training in England. Funding is also received from the Office for Students, who distribute public money for teaching and research to universities and colleges.

The Board of Governors deals with the mission and strategic direction of the College, determines policy and oversees the management of the institution which is in the hands of the Principal. The minutes of Board and committee meetings can be accessed here.

To fulfil its functions, the Board aims to recruit and maintain a wide range of skills/experience amongst its members. The profiles of current governors are shown below. Click here to find out more or apply to become a governor.

Board of Governors:

thumb Tim Kelly 01
Tim Kelly, Chair of Governors

Appointed October 2015

sue higginson
Sue Higginson, Principal
 thumb Jayne Winders 01   Jayne Winders, Vice Chair of Governors
       Appointed December 2015


anna barnish
Anna Barnish, External Member

Appointed December 2007

thumb Richard Mawdsley 01
Richard Mawdsley, External Member

Appointed December 2008

joe mcardle
Joe McArdle, External Member

Appointed October 2014

lorraine jones
Lorraine Jones, Staff Member

Appointed March 2015

garry doyle
Commodore Gary Doyle, External Member

Appointed February 2016

Joanne Finnerty 01
Joanne Finnerty, External Member

Appointed October 2017

sandra johnson
Sandra Johnson, External Member

Appointed July 2018

phil mckeown
Phil McKeown, External Member

Appointed July 2018

vix wringley
Vix Wrigley, Staff Member

Appointed July 2018

thumb Paul Smith 01
Paul Smith, External Member

Appointed February 2019


Lucy Barrow, External Member

Appointed October 2019

  Mike Taylor Student Govenor 2019 20    Mike Taylor, Student Governor

The following people attend Board meetings:

micheal norton
Michael Norton, Deputy Principal
thumb Chris Carter 01
Christine Carter, Vice Principal - Curriculum
thumb Phil Jones 01
Phillip Jones, Vice Principal - Quality
will jerram
Will Jerram, Assistant Principal - MIS
thumb Andrew King 01
Andrew King, Head of Finance
lasley vanables
Lesley Venables, Clerk to the Governors

Governors can be contacted via Louise Scott-Kelly, Administrator to Governors This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


iip matrix qaa ofsted disability esf esfaLCR adult budget logo